FAQ

Not quite a Lesbian

No, I’m bisexual, however, that has nothing to do with being transgender.

Gender identity and sexual orientation are two different things. Gender is a set of roles, assigned by society, based on which sex organs you’re born with. Sexual orientation develops later in life after puberty and operates independently of gender.

amigay
Many transgender women are actually straight. This can cause confusion for folks who don’t understand that gender is separate from reproductive sex – that’s a different post. It confused the hell out of me I thought I was gay but loved women. Whenever I was with a man… it didn’t feel gay I had the queer feelings with women.

The simple answer is the genitals don’t matter to me. Although that being said I do tend to have a clear preference for masculine/butch people and personalities. That’s a preference that has transcended sex or gender through my life.

